The 25th/26th BMF Closing Concert Youth and the New World BMF Festival Orchestra Gala

Chamber music
Venue:Poly Theatre
Time:2023-10-15 19:30
1080 /
880 /
680 /
380 /

Show Details

The cutting-edge 2023 partnership between the Beijing Music Festival and the brand-new Mahler Foundation Festival Orchestra unites a shared vision of heritage, innovation, and the future direction of classical music. Fully committed to a new generation of young composers and performers, British conductor John Warner uses Mahler’s music and innovative spirit to inspire and unite audiences worldwide. Four dedicated concerts in this special series feature world premieres by aspiring composers from China and abroad in dialogue with 20th- century masters and iconic works by Gustav Mahler. In this grand finale, the Mahler Foundation Festival Orchestra is joined by Shanghai-based Novus-Classic Camerata in a program that features the world premiere of Big Bang by Ying Wang alongside works by George Benjamin, Gustav Mahler, and Dvořák’s Symphony “From the New World,” a highly
innovative work that opened a new vista more than a century ago.
The grand finale of the 25th/26th BMF marks “New Beginnings”, first introducing a world premiere—Big BANG!—by Wang Ying, followed by Mahler’s Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen and Sir George Benjamin’s At First Light, written when the British composer was only 22. The second half of the program concludes the entire festival with Dvořák’s Ninth Symphony, “From the New World,” an innovative work that opened a new vista more than a century ago, the performance of which conductor Yukuang Jin leads the Mahler Foundation Festival Orchestra and the Shanghai-based Novus-Classic Camerata to round out the 25th/26th BMF. The combination of Chinese and international young musicians on stage reaffirm the BMF’s continuing mission—that youth and music herald our future with positive attitudes.

Wang Ying: Big Bang (new arrangement work)

Gustav Mahler (arr. John Warner):
Lieder eines fahrenden Gesellen, arranged for
mezzo-soprano and chamber orchestra
George Benjamin: At First Light


Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9, “From the New World”

Han Yinpei, mezzo soprano
Fan Ye, guitar

Beijing Music Festival Orchestra:
Mahler Foundation Festival Orchestra
Novus-Classica Camerata

John Warner, Yukuang Jin, conductor
Wang Ying, Gustav Mahler ,George Benjamin,Antonín Dvořák,